2017!

romans-12-11-niv-101214

Happy 2017, everyone:) I just realized that my last post was January 2016, which means this has just become an annual blog! I’m proud to say that I was able to accomplish the goals I made for 2016, but apart from that, 2016 was a pretty important year for me. It was the year I turned 30, served God for 7 years, and the first time I visited Australia since I left almost 12 years ago. At each of these moments, I stopped and looked back on my life and I am both grateful at what God has been doing in my life and inspired to give back more.

30 sounds old, but at the same time it marks a new stage in my life. I was reminded that Jesus was around 30 when he began his ministry and priests were given more responsibilities in the temple, so I hope that by His grace, I can put away my childish ways, and strive to become a more mature woman of God.

7 is a perfect number, and when I look back on the years I’ve been serving God, I know that it is all by God’s grace. There have been many times when I’ve looked at my life and thought, who am I to be serving God in this capacity? But every time, God gently reminds me to trust in Him, and as long as I serve Him with all my heart, He will provide all that I need to care for those He has entrusted me. It is this grace that encourages me to continue faithfully, and I hope that in the coming years I can know Him more and take up more for Him.

12 years away from “home” is a long time, but visiting Australia made me see how different my life has become since I left, and how “home” has truly become where the heart is. Seeing all my family and friends back in Australia was awesome, and I felt right at home with them. I was especially grateful that all these friendships have not changed over time and it was exciting to see how we have all grown up. But two weeks past by very quickly, and soon it was time to go “home” to the place and the people God has put me with at this point in my life.  Life is full of moments with different people. I feel so blessed to have had so many people come into my life, and I pray that I too can be a blessing to others.

Having such a “milestone” year in 2016, I look forward to what 2017 has in store. The verse to begin 2017 for me is this: “Do not lack diligence; be fervent in spirit; serve the Lord.” <Romans 12:11>.

Leave a Reply

